6 Stages You Need To Know About Waterfall And V-Model

by | Oct 31, 2015 | IT Management

Waterfall model is used only when the requirements are fixed whereas V-model can be used when the requirements are uncertain.

Waterfall Model

Phase I: In this phase the requirement gathering is done.

High Level Design Phase: The baseline in selecting the architecture is that it should realize all which typically consists of the list of modules, brief functionality of each module, their interface relationships, dependencies, database tables, architecture diagrams, technology details is done.

Low Level Design Phase: The system is broken up in to smaller parts or units or modules and each of them is explained so that the programmer can start coding directly. The low level design document or program specifications will contain a detailed functional logic of the module, in pseudo code – database tables, with all elements, including their type and size – all interface details with complete API references- all dependency issues- error message listings- complete input and outputs for a module.

Coding Phase: This is the phase of the project during which the actual work is performed. Construction of the application occurs during this phase, as does the programming of the software.

This is Testing Phase in which all the QA methodologies have been applied to validate the product as per SRS.

The application is deployed in production server which is followed by feedback and support.


V-Model is kind of testing where every phase of the STLC in this model corresponds to some activity in the SDLC. The V Model starts with Requirement Analysis ans ends with Acceptance Testing activity.

The design has Integration Testing (IT) and the System Integration Testing (SIT) and so on. In short SDLC activities and STLC activities are performing parallel.

The phase wise implementation is done as follows:

V Model starts from requirement gathering.

In V Model, at the end of the High Level Design, Product Acceptance Document reviewed and base-lined and The Test Plan completed in STLC.

In V Model, at the end of the Low Level Design, The Test Plan Document is reviewed and base lined, the Test Design document is completed, various functions and interfaces where test clients could be used must be identified automation scripting, stress testing areas be identified in STLC.

During Coding in V Model: Coding of test-clients, test automation scripts, generic interfaces is done in STLC.

During Unit Testing in V Model: Testing of the test-clients, through test cases written which shall be the inputs for the test clients is done in STLC.

Then V Model is followed by Integration testing, System integration testing and Product acceptance testing.

Satish Rajagopalan, CISA, ITIL Foundation
CEO & Founder at Spearhead EduOnline Pvt Ltd. (the company that owns and operates ApnaCourse.com). He holds a btech in Computer Science, an MBA in Strategy and Entrepreneurship and a post graduation in Finance. Read More.

Select Categories

Share This